navigation: current. archive. profile. facebook. twitter. notes.

Sunday, August 14, 2005
7:03 p.m.
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory! :-)

Dear Kurt,
I just got home an hour ago; I went to the movies with Alejandra, Monica, and Evan. We went to see

at the Edwards Cinema in the Tustin Marketplace, I LOVED it!! :-D Jonny Depp was very good as


Willy Wonka

He was sarcastic, but funny. :-) The kids and I loved him, he was so cute! I hope *crossing my fingers* he gets an Oscar. Tim Burton did a wonderful job with the scenery, music, costumes, and special effects, however, I couldn't stop noticing that he left out a few parts from the original:

1. When everyone enters the factory, they sign a HUGE contract agreeing that if anything happens to them, it's not Willy Wonka and staff's responsibility.

2. The tunnel scene, which has all these creepy/psychedelic images flashing on the walls as the boat rides full speed.

3. Charlie and Grandpa Joe go into a room where there are machines making a bubbly soda; Charlie drinks a bottle and starts floating in the air, he tries to get down before he gets caught in the razor-sharp fans but is saved when he starts to burp which helps bring him down.

4. The ending, which surprised me. Charlie is given the factory by Willy Wonka. Well, in this 2005 remake the family moves into the factory along with the house, which at first Charlie didn't take the offer because he didn't want to leave his family behind.

Well, like I mentioned above, Tim Burton did a good job which made me forget it was a remake. lol :-)

Another thing that I liked, besides the movie, were the previews and posters for upcoming films that i'll have to run to see when they open:


Wallace and Gromit

*shivers* OOOOH... I dropped my mouth open when I saw the poster, it opens May 16, 2006. The book was so good!! Ticket reservations, anyone? :-)

Corspe Bride OOOH, another Tim Burton film similar to my favorite "Nightmare Before Christmas" with a skiny character falling in love with a scary girl and living in a Halloween-type town.

Anyway...
We got there really early around 2 p.m. so we "killed time" by having a light lunch at Baja Fresh, this Mexican restaurant; Monica and I shared a burrito with rice, beans, and steak. It was rico! (delicious!)The funny thing was that Monica, Alejandra, and Evan were all wearing "Italia" shirts/jackets and people stared like we were really that nationality. Heh, non parliamo italiano(we don't speak Italian)

We also went Target to buy a lunchbox for Evan, who's starting second grade soon. He got a Ninja Turtles one, I can't believe they revived that cartoon, I was his age when it was first en vogue. (in style) I'm older than I thought... lol :-D

Anyway...
The day was so gloomy, feels like winter. Well, at least it wasn't hot and humid like other days. However, this type of weather depresses me a bit. *sigh* :-(

I got up this morning at 9:20 a.m. and read the Sunday paper and cleaned my room around 10 a.m. Mom made Evan (who spent a night here last night) and I pancakes for breakfast, she must of read my mind because i've been craving them for a while, lol. :-)

That's all for now.

Love,
Pancho Pantera

"Everything is edible, even myself, but eating me will be considered cannibalism" That line made me laugh so hard. :-D

the pastandthe future

hosted by DiaryLand.com