navigation: current. archive. profile. facebook. twitter. notes.

Monday, July 4, 2005
12:28 p.m.
Michelle

Dear Kurt,
Well today is Fourth of July, meh... we don't celebrate that stuff, but yesterday my family and I had the honor of celebrating Raul and Michelle's wedding. :-) It was SO much fun!! Here are all the details:

The funny thing was that we were on the 5 South San Diego freeway making our way to the Holiday Inn hotel in Laguna Hills and so we saw Raul driving in front of us, so we followed him and Cindy & Patty were anxious to see if how nice he looked. We finally got there early around 5 p.m. and Raul was getting off his car and Patty & Cindy saw him and went "WOOOOO, HE SHAVED!!!" and Dad thought "Did I hit a car, you guys yelled." *giggles*

Well, the ceremony went by fast, it really didn't matter how long it was, what mattered was the love Raul and Michelle have for each other 'til this day. :-) My Aunts Chela and Licho got there on time with my cousins so I saw them while I was making the entrance with Alejandra and the bridesmaids/groomsmen. I winked at them. ;-) I was a bit nervous standing in front of the entire spectators/family, I almost cried during the "I DO" vows and at the same wanted to burst out laughing at the flower girl and Angie (Miriam and Andres' adorable daughter) making noise. :-) Aww... my feelings.

Well, after the ceremony came the PAAAAARTY!!! :-D They had cheese and punch as snacks and FREE booze (which I didn't dare to try, meh, no more hungovers please...). I took my seat next to Gloria, Yolanda, and my parents at a round table near the bride and groom's, so it was good spot. :-) Another funny thing was that everytime people rang their wineglass with a spoon or a knife they would kiss. *giggles* Cute!

They did the traditional toast before dinner and my Dad said a few words in Spanish, which I thought was neat so that Michelle's family could see what being Mexican is all about. :-)

Dinner was a masterpiece, this chubby man who worked at the hotel was calling table by table so that the group can go and serve themselves whatever they wanted from the buffet. My plate had -

.This lovely pink and white pasta salad
.Shrimp salad
.Potatoes
.Salad with lots of ranch dressing over it
.This mouth watering chicken with this creamy white sauce and veggies

MMMM... such a delicious dinner. :-)

After dinner was BOOGIE ON THE DANCEFLOOR!! :-D Raul and Michelle did the traditional "dollar dance" where they get a dollar from a man or a woman and they dance with them. I gave Michelle a dollar and danced a little bit of "Let's Get It On" by Marvin Gaye with her, such a good song. :-)

Well, soon after that came the other wedding tradition, the "bride tosses the bouquet and the groom tosses"... I don't know what it's called, but i'll say "the ribbon on her leg". Well, tradition says that the single woman who catches the bouquet and the man who catches the ribbon will be the next to get married, okay, so guess who got them? Monica and me!! :-D Isn't that a coincidence? We're brother and sister and desperate to find a partner, lol.

The shoes I was wearing with my tux were killing my feet, ouch! To make the long story short, the ones I got with the rental didn't fit me so Dad let me borrow this new pair he had in his closet. Still, Dad's shoes killed my feet worst than the rental shoes that I never wore. :-S I danced in my socks.

Well, here are the most memorable moments of the wedding, in no special order.

1. Me catching the ribbon that was on Michelle's leg, I was right in front of her the whole time. *giggle*
2. My Aunt Chela borrowing the DJ's mike to sing along to "El Rey" (The King) by Vicente Fernandez, with me singing backup. :-)
3. The goodies I got = A gorgeous silver money with Paco engraved on it, as a thank you gift for being a groomsman. A pink rose that I wore on my "penguin" coat. (We say penguin because the cut looks like its tail)A dolphin-shaped cookie cutter with a card that has a beach picture on one side and a sugar recipe on the back.
4. Me being groomsman.
5. The grand finale, which was the song "Michelle" by The Beatles playing while everyone hugged the newlyweds. It was so sweet and perfect. :-)
6. The tux I wore, which had a navy blue vest and tie, white shirt, and black coat and pants.
7. The pictures, pictures and pictures!

And the few worst things... oh no...

1. My feet hurting me.
2. Not falling in love as I thought I was going to.
3. Monica getting wasted and throwing up on a plastic container that one of the hotel guys gave her, I swear I didn't notice her drinking or acting funny.

Well, those are all the memories of that wonderful day. My sisters are coming over, so I hope they'll bring their digital cameras so I can load the pictures on Alejandra's laptop.

Love to Raul and Michelle,
Pancho Pantera

P.S. Here's "Michelle" by The Beatles, which is so stuck in my head...
'); document.writeln('');
Beatles Lyrics

the pastandthe future

hosted by DiaryLand.com